Teaching and Learning

​​​​​At St Ita's we believe that the essential focus of our school is the overall development of each child according to the needs and potential of the individual. As such, we strive to provide a curriculum that will enable the child to grow in the knowledge, skills, attitudes and values necessary to become a spiritual, well integrated, secure, self-disciplined person, confident and able to contribute to the betterment of themselves, society and the environment in which we live. 

St Ita's Primary School has embraced the Brisbane Catholic Education Learning Framework as the starting point for planning for learning at all levels across the school. ​

Vision for Learning at St Ita's

At St Ita's we educate all to live the Gospel of Jesus Christ as successful, creative and confident, active and informed learners empowered to shape and enrich our world.
The Curriculum
​In alignment with the Alice Springs ​Declaration Goals for Young Australians our approach to teaching and learning includes the following:

* Promoting equity and excellence for all learners 
* Enabling all students to become successful learners, confident and creative individuals and active and informed citizens 
* Considers lifelong learning 
* Offers expanded opportunities within a variety of contexts 
* Encourages a flexible approach 
* Reflects a connected curriculum when and where appropriate and possible 
* Has Literacy, Numeracy and Information Communication Learning Technologies embedded in all curriculum areas

The Australian Curriculum sets consistent high standards for what all young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling. It prepares Australia’s next generation for the future and lays the building blocks for generations to come.

The Curriculum focuses on learning area content and achievement standards that describe what students will learn and teachers will teach. It also gives attention to seven general capabilities that are important for life and work in the 21st century and to three issues identified in the Melbourne Declaration as needing more attention than they have received in curricula to date. The general capabilities and the cross-curriculum priorities are not added as additional subjects. They are dealt with, where relevant, through the learning area content on which the curriculum is built. The Australian Curriculum has eight learning areas. Some learning areas include more than one subject.

St Ita’s implements the Australian Curriculum in all eight learning areas: English, Mathematics, Science, Humanities and Social Sciences (History and Geography), The Arts, Technologies, Health and Physical Education, and LOTE - French. In addition, Religious Education is implemented from Prep to Year 6.

To keep parents up to date with specific curriculum content appropriate to their child’s developmental level, teachers will communicate this information in a variety of ways at different stages throughout the year.

Parent Teacher interviews are offered at the start of Term Two and the end of Term Three.

Contemporary teaching practices in line with the Australian Curriculum are highly valued at St Ita's School. Professional learning of teachers and support staff is of high priority so as to provide quality teaching and learning. ​

Religion Curriculum P-12​